

## Complaint for Violation of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Act

All information on this form is confidential until a decision is issued by the Board. A photocopy of the entire complaint, however, will be sent to the respondent.

## Information about complaint filer

Name of complaint filer	
Address	Email address
City, state, and zip	Telephone (Daytime)

## Identify person/entity you are complaining about

Name of person/entity being complained about
Address
City, state, zip
Title of respondent (If applicable)
Board/Department/Agency/District # (If legislator)

Signature of person filing complaint

Date

Send completed form to:

Campaign Finance & Public Disclosure Board 190 Centennial Office Building 658 Cedar Street St. Paul, MN 55155

If you have questions call 651-539-1189, 800-657-3889, or for TTY/TDD communication contact us via the Minnesota Relay Service at 800-627-3529. Board staff may be reached by email at cf.board@state.mn.us.

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 651-539-1180, 800-657-3889, or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 800-627-3529.

You will find links to the complete text of Chapter 10A, Chapter 211B, and Minnesota Rules chapters 4501 - 4525 on the Board's website at cfb.mn.gov.

## Nature of complaint

Explain in detail why you believe the respondent has violated the campaign finance and public disclosure laws. Attach extra sheet(s) of paper if necessary. Attach any documents, photographs, or other evidence needed to support your allegations. Electronic files may be provided to the Board by email or via a file transfer service.

Minnesota Statutes section 10A.022 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 4525 describe the procedures required for investigating complaints. A full description of the complaint process is available on the Board's website. Briefly, the Board will notify you when it has received your complaint. The Board must send a copy of the complaint to the respondent. Complaints and investigations are confidential. Board members and staff cannot talk about an investigation except as required to carry out the investigation or to take action in the matter. After the Board issues a decision, the record of the investigation is public.

The law requires a complaint to go through two stages before the Board can begin an investigation: a prima facie determination and a probable cause decision. If the complaint does not pass one of the stages, it must be dismissed. The Board chair or their designee has 10 business days after receiving your complaint to determine whether the complaint alleges a prima facie violation. If the complaint alleges a prima facie violation, the Board has 60 days to decide whether probable cause exists to believe a violation that warrants a formal investigation has occurred. Both you and the respondent have the right to be heard on the issue of probable cause before the Board makes this decision. The Board will notify you if the complaint moves to the probable cause stage.

If the Board determines that probable cause does not exist, the Board will dismiss the complaint. If the Board determines that probable cause exists, the Board may start an investigation. In some cases the Board will issue findings, conclusions, and an order as its decision. In other cases the Board will instead enter into a conciliation agreement with the respondent. The Board's final decision will be posted on the Board's website.